Washington Writers Conference 2018 Schedule of Events

(All events take place at the College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center in College Park, MD)

Schedule of Events

Friday, May 4, 2018

6-7:30 p.m.: Meet-Greet-and-Eat (cash bar)

7:30-8:30 p.m.: Panel: How to Pitch an Agent

Will Pittman, moderator
Roger Williams, agent
B.J. Robbins, agent
Rita Rosenkranz, agent

Saturday, May 5, 2018

7:45 a.m.-8:45 a.m.: Registration/coffee

8-8:45 a.m.: Special session: "Book Promotion for Authors" by literary agent Katharine Sands

8:45 a.m.: Welcome from the Independent’s president, Salley Shannon (introduced by Jenny Yacovissi, conference chair)

(Pitch sessions start at 9 a.m. and continue through the day)

Morning Plenary Sessions

9-9:45 a.m.: Writing a Page-Turner

Salley Shannon, moderator, president of the Independent
Delancey Stewart, author of Without Words
Ed Aymar, author of You're as Good as Dead
Art Taylor, author of On the Road with Del & Louise: A Novel in Stories

10-10:50 a.m.: Tools of the Trade (“Seasoned Authors Share Their Secrets”)

David O. Stewart, moderator, author of Madison's Gift: Five Partnerships that Built America
Peter Cozzens, author of The Earth Is Weeping: The Epic Story of the Indian Wars for the American West
Paul Dickson, author of Leo Durocher: Baseball's Prodigal Son
John F. Ross, author of Enduring Courage: Ace Pilot Eddie Rickenbacker and the Dawn of the Age of Speed

11-11:45 a.m.: Alice McDermott in Conversation with Tayla Burney (introduced by Jenny Yacovissi)

Noon-1:30 p.m.: Lunch (provided)

Keynote speaker: Veteran broadcast journalist and author Bob Schieffer (introduced by Gene Meyer)

1:45-2:40 p.m.: Political Books in the Age of Trump (a special plenary session)

Margaret Engel, moderator, co-author of ThriftStyle: The Ultimate Bargain Shopper's Guide to Smart Fashion
John A. Farrell, author of Richard Nixon: The Life
Laurence Leamer, author of The Lynching: The Epic Courtroom Battle That Brought Down the Klan
David Litt, author of Thanks, Obama: My Hopey, Changey White House Years
E.J. Dionne Jr., author of One Nation After Trump: A Guide for the Perplexed, the Disillusioned, the Desperate, and the Not-Yet Deported

Concurrent panels (choose one from each time slot):

3-3:50 p.m.: Women of Crime

Donna Andrews, moderator, author of the Meg Langslow Mystery series
Colleen Shogan, author of Calamity at the Continental Club
Sherry Harris, author of the Sarah Winston Garage Sale mysteries
Maya Corrigan, author of the Five-Ingredient Mystery series

3-3:50 p.m.: Through the Wormhole: Debut Sci-Fi Authors Tell All

Tara Campbell, moderator, author of TreeVolution
Nik Korpon, author of The Rebellion's Last Traitor
Meg Eden, author of Post-High School Reality Quest
Kathy MacMillan, author of Sword and Verse


4-4:50 p.m.: Channeling Climate Change: The Tip of the Iceberg

Tim Wendel, moderator, author of Cancer Crossings: A Brother, His Doctors, and the Quest for a Cure to Childhood Leukemia
Joseph Romm, author of Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know
Mike Tidwell, author of Bayou Farewell: The Rich Life and Tragic Death of Louisiana's Cajun Coast
John R. Wennersten, co-author of Rising Tides: Climate Refugees in the Twenty-First Century

4-4:50 p.m.: There’s Always a First Time: Debut Authors Across Genres and Publishing Paths

Jenny Yacovissi, moderator, author of Up the Hill to Home
Paula Tarnapol Whitacre (biography), author of A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time: Julia Wilbur's Struggle for Purpose
Caroline Kitchener (memoir/journalism), author of Post Grad: Five Women and Their First Year Out of College
Melissa Scholes Young (novel), author of Flood
Jacob R. Weber (short stories), author of Don't Wait to Be Called

5 p.m.: Conference Concludes






Washington Writers Conference logo




Conference Links
Main Conference Page
Schedule of Events