David O. Stewart to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

  • February 28, 2023

Look what’s happening at the 2023 Washington Writers Conference!

David O. Stewart to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

We’re pleased to announce that David O. Stewart will receive the Independent’s Lifetime Achievement Award during the 2023 Washington Writers Conference! Bestselling biographer and previous recipient Kitty Kelley will present him with the honor.

Stewart is the acclaimed author of multiple award-winning works of fiction and nonfiction, including George Washington: The Political Rise of America’s Founding Father and the forthcoming novel The Burning Land. He is being recognized as an exemplary literary citizen, first for his work with Washington Independent Writers, and later as co-founder, in 2011, of the Independent, where he served six years as president. Stewart was instrumental in establishing the Washington Writers Conference and continues to serve both on the Independent’s board of directors and on that of the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD.

Along with Kelley, other past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award include Maryland Poet Laureate Grace Cavalieri; longtime Washington Post reporter and editor Eugene L. Meyer; and author and teacher Marita Golden, co-founder of the Hurston/Wright Foundation.

The 2023 Washington Writers Conference takes place May 12-13 in Rockville, MD. Spots are going fast, so REGISTER NOW!

Believe in what we do? Support the nonprofit Independent!
comments powered by Disqus