Celebrating a Civil Rights Story

  • September 21, 2020

Sharon Robinson wins the 2020 Grateful American Book Prize!

Celebrating a Civil Rights Story

Sharon Robinson, daughter of the late baseball great Jackie Robinson, is recipient of the 2020 Grateful American Book Prize for Child of the Dream: A Memoir of 1963, which reveals her tempestuous 13th year living amid the fluctuating fortunes of the Civil Rights movement.

Earning honorable mentions this year are Allies, Alan Gratz’s arresting book of fact and fiction about D-Day, and Larry Dane Brimner’s equally spellbinding Accused!: The Trials of the Scottsboro Boys: Lies, Prejudice, and the Fourteenth Amendment.

The Grateful American Book Prize was established by the Grateful American™ Foundation to honor authors and their works, and to encourage authors and publishers to produce more accurate books about the personalities and events from America’s past.

Click here for more information on the prize and this year’s honorees.

Like what we do? Click here to support the nonprofit Independent!
comments powered by Disqus