“And the Winner Is…”

  • October 11, 2018

This year’s Grateful American™ Book Prize goes to L.M. Elliott!

“And the Winner Is…”

Kirkus calls L.M. Elliott’s Cold War-era middle-grade novel, Suspect Red, “a tense, engrossing story that effectively captures the suspicion and paranoia that prevailed during American history's darkest chapters.” The Grateful American™ Foundation simply calls it “the winner.”

The foundation will present Elliott with its 2018 Grateful American™ Book Prize — created by author/publisher David Bruce Smith and the late Dr. Bruce Cole, former chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities — at a ceremony tonight in Washington, DC. And in a first for the prize, Elliott will also receive an Honorable Mention for Hamilton and Peggy! A Revolutionary Friendship, an entrancing tale set during the Revolution.

Additionally, author Teri Kanefield will be awarded an Honorable Mention for her middle-grade biography Alexander Hamilton, part of the “Making of America” series.

The prize includes $13,000, a lifetime pass to the New York Historical Society, and a medallion created by the American artist Clarice Smith. The Honorable Mention prize includes the medallion and $500.

To learn more about the Grateful American™ Book Prize, including how to nominate works for next year’s award, click here.

Like what we do? Click here to support the nonprofit Independent!
comments powered by Disqus